Suitcases

Ok so I said 1 post a week, well this morning when my wife turned to me and said ‘see, this is why you do crossfit’ a lightbulb went off in my head and inspired this short blog…

So let’s set the scene… this morning me and the wife took our usual 20 minute taxi drive to work and got dropped off at our usual spot outside the schools front gates on the pavement. However, today’s journey was slightly different, we are off on holiday this evening! Yay! Therefore todays journey was performed with me carrying two small rucksacks (one on my back, and one on my front) and wheeling our two 20kg+ suitcases. It wasn’t until we got to the uneven, treacherous pavement (those that live/have lived in Thailand will know what I mean) and my wife turned to me and said (see the above quote) that I even thought about exercise and how what I do at crossfit most days helps me everyday. Crossfit is certainly functional fitness!

What is meant by functional fitness. Well an explanation online suggests ‘While using various muscles in the upper and lower body at the same time, functional fitness exercises also emphasize core stability. For example, a squat is a functional exercise because it trains the muscles used when you rise up and down from a chair or pick up low objects’. For me it is developing movement and strength that will help you cope with the demands of everyday life, such as picking up boxes or moving heavy suitcases!

Now I am not the biggest fan of sled pushes or farmers walks but this morning highlighted just why this strength and performing these exercises is useful. As I struggled to wheel my suitcases over broken pavements and up and over steps my functional fitness came into play! I grabbed both cases, one in either hand, and performed a serious of mini farmers walks to get my weights (suitcases) to their desired location. All of this performed whilst wearing a weighted vest (my small rucksacks attached to my front and back). However, when I arrived in school there were slopes to navigate and out came the sled pulls!

In fact, only yesterday I was walking past the sports hall and noticed a large group of men trying to move some extremely heavy machinery that was being used to set up the schools Christmas assembly. It was too big to get through the doors so as they tried to tilt this large machine in order to move it into the sports hall I jumped in and helped. Taking some of the weight on top of my chest and lowering by bending my knees I was performing a cross between a goblet squat and a front squat to help support the weight and do my bit.

There are many examples in every day life; moving house, gardening, painting, cleaning windows etc etc that if you break down the actual movement I am positive you can find exercise you already perform or could perform in the gym. By doing these types of exercies i.e. squats, deadlifts, sled pulls, farmers carry (the list is exhaustive) we are conditioning our body to deal with the demands of every day life and helping to prevent injury.

3 thoughts on “Suitcases

Leave a Reply

